My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Duke Ellington and his orchestra, 1929-1941 [videorecording] : stars of the Cotton Club.

Image of item

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videocassette (33 min.) : sd., b&w ; 1/2 in. + 1 playbill.
  • Publisher: Rahway, N.J. : Jazz Classics, [1987].

Content descriptions

General Note:
VHS format.
Title from container. Title frames carry inaccurate title from previous release: Duke Ellington and his orchersra, 1929-1952.
Originally produced as motion pictures from 1929 to 1941.
Jazz Classics: JCVC 101.
Formatted Contents Note:
1. Black and tan (1929) -- 2. Symphony in black (1934) -- 3. Hot chocolate (1941).
Participant or Performer Note:
Featuring Duke Ellington and his orchestra, Fredi Washington, Billie Holiday, and Whitey's Lindy Hoppers.
Subject: Jazz

Additional Resources