My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Sweet home Chicago [videorecording] / MCA Records, Inc ; an Initial Film and Television production in association with Vanguard Films.

Image of item

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (60 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.
  • Publisher: Universal City, CA : MCA Music Video, 1993.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Subtitle on container: The Story in words and music of Chicago blues and Chess Records.
Laser disc.
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Producer, Nina Rosenstein ; directors, Alan Raymond, Susan Raymond ; editor, Bruce Follmer ; photographer, Alan Raymond.
Participant or Performer Note:
Muddy Waters, Rolling Stones, Buddy Guy, Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Sonny Boy Williamson, Chuck Berry, Phil and Marshall Chess, James Cotton, John Lee Hooker, Mick Jagger, Johnnie Johnson, Hubert Sumlin, Koko Taylor, Junior Wells.
Summary, etc.:
Utilizing historic footage and interviews with many blues performers, this film captures the sound of the great urban blues artists and tells the story of Chess Records, the independent company that became the premier home of Chicago blues.
Subject: Chess, Phil > Interviews.
Chess, Marshall > Interviews.
Cotton, James > Interviews.
Guy, Buddy > Interviews.
Hooker, John Lee > Interviews.
Jagger, Mick > Interviews.
Johnson, Johnnie, 1924-2005 > Interviews.
Sumlin, Hubert, 1931- > Interviews.
Taylor, Koko > Interviews.
Wells, Junior, 1934-1998 > Interviews.
Chess Records (Firm)
Blues (Music) > Illinois > Chicago
Blues (Music)
Blues musicians
African American musicians

Additional Resources