My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Sit down and listen [videorecording] : the story of Max Roach / producer, Penny Corke ; directed by Geoffrey Haydon ; Third Eye Productions, Ltd. for Channel Four in association with RM Arts.

Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Berklee College of Music.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Media Center DVD 2254 37684000901601 Media Center Desk Copy hold / Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (56 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Publisher: Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, [2004]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Originally produced in 1984.
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Photography, Michael Coulter, John Davey, Andrew Carchrae ; sound recordist, John Lundsten ; film editor, Charles Rees.
Participant or Performer Note:
Max Roach ; Cecil Bridgewater ; Odean Pope ; Tyron [i.e. Tyrone] Brown ; M'Boom (Warren Smith, Joe Chambers, Fred King, Roy Brooks, Eli Fountain, Abdur-Rahman Kenyatte, Omar Clay, Ray Mantilla, percussion) ; The Swedenborg String Quartet.
Summary, etc.:
Jazz drummer, bandleader, composer, and professor Max Roach reflects on his career in music; includes footage from the studio, on tour, and behind the podium.
System Details Note:
DVD video; coded for Region 1 (North America) playback only.
Subject: Roach, Max, 1924-2007
Drummers (Musicians) > Biography.
Jazz musicians > Biography
Jazz > History and criticism

Additional Resources