My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers [videorecording] : live in France 1959 / original 1959 concert footage directed by Jean-Christophe Averty ; executive producers, Michael Cuscuna & Fred Pustay for Mosaic Records ; producers, David Peck, Phillip Galloway & Tom Gulotta for Reelin' in the Years Productions.

Blakey, Art, 1919-1990 (Performer). Morgan, Lee, 1938-1972 (Performer). Shorter, Wayne. (Performer). Davis, Walter, 1932-1990 (Performer). Merritt, Jymie. (Performer). Peck, David. (Producer). Galloway, Phillip. (Producer). Gulotta, Tom. (Producer). Averty, Jean-Christophe, 1928- (Director). Cuscuna, Michael. (Producer). Pustay, Fred. (Producer). Scoville, Steve. (Editor). Jazz Messengers. (Performer). Reelin' in the Years Productions. (Added Author). Mosaic Records. (Added Author). Institut national de l'audiovisuel (France) (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Berklee College of Music.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Stan Getz Library DVD 5554 37684001076050 Annex Copy hold / Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (83 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Publisher: [San Diego, Calif.] : Licensed by Reelin' in the Years Productions on behalf of Ina, Institut national de l'audiovisuel; c2011.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Title from container.
Issued in publisher's 6-disc boxed set, videorecording no.: DVBX-6001.
Liner notes by Bob Blumenthal (11 p. : ill ; 18 cm.) inserted in container.
Bonus: short interview of Art Blakey in English with interviewer translating Mr. Blakey's responses into French ; concluding section of performance of Nellie Bly (aka Mama G), including extended drum solo by Mr. Blakey.
Formatted Contents Note:
Are you real? -- What know (aka Goldie) -- No problem -- Bouncing with Bud -- Close your eyes -- Along came Betty -- Blues march -- A night in Tunisia.
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Editor, Steve Scoville.
Participant or Performer Note:
Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers (Art Blakey, drums ; Lee Morgan, trumpet ; Wayne Shorter, tenor saxophone ; Walter Davis, Jr., piano ; Jymie Merritt, bass).
Date/Time and Place of an Event Note:
Filmed Nov. 15, 1959, at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris, France.
Summary, etc.:
"At the time of this ... concert, Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers were introducing two new members: Wayne Shorter, whose sound and conception would forever change the sonic landscape of the band and Walter Davis Jr., who had as much drive on the piano as Blakey had on his drums. The band featured Lee Morgan on trumpet ... Seeing rather than just hearing Blakey's soaring dynamics and irresistible rhythms reveals just how powerfully he controlled the shape of the music and drove each soloist to new heights."--Container.
System Details Note:
DVD; all regions; Dolby Digital mono.
Subject: Jazz > 1951-1960.
Percussion music (Jazz)
Genre: Concert films.
Live sound recordings.

Additional Resources