My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

The infinite variety of music / Leonard Bernstein.

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at Berklee College of Music.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Main Library MT6 .B476 2007 37684001096626 Library Stacks Copy hold / Volume hold Available -
Valencia Main Library MT6.B476 2007 37684001071883 Valencia Stacks Copy hold / Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781574671643 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 1574671642
  • Physical Description: 286 p. : ill., music, ports. ; 22 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Amadeus Press, 2007.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Reprint. Originally published: New York : Simon and Schuster, c1966.
Formatted Contents Note:
An imaginary conversation : The Muzak muse -- Five television scripts : The infinite variety of music -- Jazz in a serious age -- The ageless Mozart (The New York Philharmonic in Venice) -- Rhythm -- Romanticism in music -- A sabbatical report -- Four symphonic analyses : Dvořák : Symphony no. 9 in E minor, opus 95 (From the new world) -- Tchaikovsky : Symphony no. 6 in B minor, opus 74 (Pathétique) -- Beethoven : Symphony no. 3 in E flat major, opus 55 (Eroica) -- Brahms : Symphony no. 4 in E minor, opus 98 (movement 1) -- An informal letter : "Something to say ...".
Summary, etc.:
This classic work by one of the twentieth century's true musical geniuses provides a guided tour through the living splendors of the great classics to the bold new sounds of contemporary music. Bridging the gulf between composer and concert-going public, and breaking through the confines of what is generally considered "serious" classical music, Leonard Bernstein provides the reader with a unique, personal, and serendipitous tour of musical form punctuated by musings philosophical and otherwise.
Subject: Music appreciation.
Orchestral music > Analysis, appreciation.

Additional Resources