My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Wolfgang Rihm, a Chiffre : the 1980s and beyond / Yves Knockaert ; with a foreword by Richard McGregor.

Knockaert, Yves. (Author). McGregor, Richard, 1953- (Author of introduction, etc.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Berklee College of Music.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Stan Getz Library ML410.R547 K66 2017 37684001103618 Library Stacks Copy hold / Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9789462701236
  • ISBN: 9462701237
  • Physical Description: 339 pages : music ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: Leuven : Leuven University Press, [2017]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Summary, etc.:
The elusive and ungraspable in Rihms's music. Wolfgang Rihm (b. Karlsruhe, 1952) is the most performed living German composer. With his personal, expressive, and versatile music, he became the most prominent representative of his generation. His individual approach to music was established in the 1980s and he continues to explore and enlarge his original concepts today. His 1980s work is at the core of this book, more specifically his instrumental music: the 'Chiffre' cycle and the string quartets. Thinking about Rihm includes reflecting on his interest in philosophy, his relation to fine arts, his awareness of principles found in nature, and his references to important composers from the past. His music is embedded in the past and the actuality in modernism and postmodernism. Notwithstanding Rihm's generosity in essays and introductions to his works, many aspects of the 'inner sound' of his music stay an elusive, ungraspable 'chiffre': a challenge for the analyst.
Subject: Rihm, Wolfgang > Criticism and interpretation.
Rihm, Wolfgang. Chamber music.
Rihm, Wolfgang. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello.
Composers > Germany > 20th century.

Additional Resources