My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Ella Fitzgerald [videorecording] : [live in '57 & '63] / Reelin' in the Years Productions LLC ; producers, David Peck & Phillip Galloway.

Peck, David (Added Author). Galloway, Phillip (Added Author). Fitzgerald, Ella (Vocalist). Abney, Don, 1923-2000 (Instrumentalist). Brown, Ray, 1926-2002 (Instrumentalist). Jones, Jo, 1911-1985 (Instrumentalist). Ellis, Herb, 1921-2010 (Instrumentalist). Eldridge, Roy, 1911-1989 (Instrumentalist). Peterson, Oscar, 1925-2007 (Instrumentalist). Flanagan, Tommy (Instrumentalist). Hughart, Jim (Instrumentalist). Johnson, Gus, 1913-2000 (Instrumentalist). Spann, Les, 1932-1989 (Instrumentalist). Reelin' in the Years Productions (Added Author).

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (56 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet (15 p. : ill. ; 18 cm.)
  • Publisher: [San Diego, CA] : Reelin' in the Years Productions, c2006.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Special features: Booklet that includes liner notes by Will Friedwald; moving foreword by Ella's son Ray Brown Jr.; rare photographs and memorabilia.
Formatted Contents Note:
Belgium 1957: Angel eyes / Earl Brent, Matt Dennis -- Lullaby of Birdland / George Shearing, George David Weiss -- Love for sale / Cole Porter -- Tenderly / Walter Gross, Jack Lawrence -- April in Paris / Vernon Duke, E.Y. Harburg -- Just one of those things -- Roll 'em Pete / Peter Johnson -- I can't give you anything but love / Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh -- It don't mean a thing (if it ain't got that swing) / Duke Ellington, Irving Mills -- Sweden 1963: No moon at all / Redd Evans, Dave Mann -- Just one of those things / Cole Porter -- Runnin' wild / Arthur Gibbs, Joe Grey, and Leo Wood -- Georgia on my mind / Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell -- Desafinado / Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonca -- Hallelujah, I love her so / Ray Charles -- Mack the knife / Marc Blitzstein, Bertolt Brecht, and Kurt Weill.
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Editor, Steve Scoville.
Participant or Performer Note:
Performers: Ella Fitzgerald, vocal ; Don Abney, piano ; Ray Brown, bass ; Jo Jones, drums ; Herb Ellis, guitar ; Roy Eldridge, trumpet ; Oscar Peterson, piano (1st segment) ; Ella Fitzgerald, vocal ; Tommy Flanagan, piano ; Jim Hughart, bass ; Gus Johnson, drums ; Les Spann, guitar (2nd segment).
Date/Time and Place of an Event Note:
The first performance filmed in Belgium, 1957 for the program Jazz pour tous; the second performance filmed April 3, 1963 in Sweden for the program Mork sang.
Summary, etc.:
Features Ella Fitzgerald in two distinct performances. The first is the earliest known complete concert of Ella to be captured on film.
System Details Note:
DVD, all regions; Dolby Digital mono.
Subject: Jazz > 1951-1960
Jazz > 1961-1970
Jazz vocals
African American jazz musicians
Concert films > Belgium.
Concert films > Sweden.

Additional Resources