My Library Account

Record Details

Catalog Search

Itzhak Perlman [videorecording] : virtuoso violinist / produced by Allegro Films London, SWF Baden, WDR Koln ; Argos Productions ; directed by Christopher Nupen.

Nupen, Christopher. (Director). Perlman, Itzhak, 1945- (Added Author). Ashkenazy, Vladimir, 1937- (Added Author). Zukerman, Pinchas, 1948- (Added Author). Harrell, Lynn. (Added Author). Perlman, Toby. (Added Author). Canino, Bruno. (Added Author). Salerno-Sonnenberg, Nadja. (Added Author). Lin, Cho-Liang, 1960- (Added Author). Foster, Lawrence, 1941- (Added Author). Du Pré, Jacqueline, 1945-1987 (Added Author). Pini, Carl. (Conductor). Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750 Violin music. (Added Author). Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750 Sonaten und Partiten, violin, BWV 1001-1006. Partita, no. 2. (Added Author). Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750 Sonaten und Partiten, violin, BWV 1001-1006. Partita, no. 3. (Added Author). Philharmonia Orchestra (London, England) (Added Author). Aspen Chamber Symphony. (Added Author). Argos Productions. (Added Author). Allegro Films (London, England) (Added Author). Westdeutscher Rundfunk. (Added Author). Südwestfunk (Baden-Baden, Germany) (Added Author).

Record details

  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (approximately 160 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet (14 pages : color illustrations ; 18 cm.)
  • Publisher: [London] : Allegro Films, [2008]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Originally produced as a motion picture in 1978.
Special features include: personal introductions by Christopher Nupen.
Formatted Contents Note:
I know I played every note -- The Trout remembered -- Jacqueline du Pré remembered -- The Bach E major violin partita, BWV 1006 -- The Bach D minor violin partita, BWV 1004 (includes the great Chaconne).
Creation/Production Credits Note:
Lighting, cameraman, David Findlay ; sound, Derek Williams, Ivan Sharp ; film editor, Peter Heelas.
Participant or Performer Note:
Participants, Itzhak Perlman, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Pinchas Zukerman, Lynn Harrell, Toby Perlman, Bruno Canino, Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, Chou Liang Lin, Lawrence Foster ; The Aspen Chamber Symphony ; The Philharmonia Orchestra ; Carl Pini, conductor.
Summary, etc.:
"This DVD is an intimate account of the formative years in the life and career of one of the leading violinists of our time. Itzhak Perlman fell in love with the sounds of the violin at the age of 3 1/2 but contacted polio a few months later and was soon to learn that it would be impossible, with his handicap, for him to pursue a high-level career as a violonist. Not only has he succeeded in doing what the world thought quite impossible but he has done it on a level that few have matched. It is a heartening story of the spectacular triumph of talent, determination, character and tenacity over seemingly insurmountable odds, producint truly glorious results along the way. The DVD contains the much admired portrait film Itzhak Perlman. virtuoso violinist (I know I played every note) together with The Trout Remembered, Jacqueline du Pré Remembered (made especially for this DVD) and two complete Bach Partitas, E major and D minor, filmed live at a memorable recital at St John's, Smith Square, in London."--Container.
System Details Note:
DVD; aspect ratio 4:3 (film), 16:9 anamorphic (DVD menu and introductions); Dolby Digital; stereo.; dual mono.; all regions.
Language Note:
Commentary in English, with subtitles in German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Finnish.
Subject: Perlman, Itzhak, 1945- > Biography.
Violinists > Biography.
Violin music > Interviews.

Additional Resources